Chances are you’ve never heard of it.
Yet almost half a million tourists make a beeline for Doneraile Park every year.
With lakes, water features, ancient trees and magnificent formal gardens laid out alongside the Awbeg River, Doneraile Court is the former residence of Sir William St. Leger, Lord Deputy of Ireland in 1629, and generations of his family.
And it’s completely dreamy…
The St. Legers originally lived in Doneraile Castle, but later moved to the handsome stately house, which was built using some of the stone from the original structure.
The property is steeped in history and would later be home to Elizabeth St Leger, the only female Freemason ever to be inducted into the organisation.
The last St Leger left the property in 1969, but the stunning parkland, designed by the famous English landscape architect Capability Brown, remains to this day.
Visitors can wander the ornamental gardens and avenues of mature trees and spot Killarney Red Deer, Sika and Fallow, which roam the park.
There’s a playground for kids to enjoy and well-behaved dogs are welcome in the park too.